Thailand

Asiatic Adventuretown

After a woeful and short-lived attempt at blogging in the Middle East, I’ve returned with a [slightly] more solid resolve to the blogosphere. Let’s just get this out of the way, though, and acknowledge that a ‘more solid resolve’ to me evidently means scraping together a new post an astounding 2 years after the birth of this blog. Wayfaring Gypsy has been dismally neglected for long enough, so I’ve decided to throw ‘er a post now that I’m in a new land and this, I think, is a travel blog after all . This particular trip finds me in Southeast Asia for the first time. At this exact moment I’m lounging in my beach bungalow on the tropical Thai island of Koh Phangan. I’m making myself quite at home here and have even taken it upon myself to pseudo-adopt a street dog as my own. She’s most likely crawling with communicable diseases, but I love her just the same. If only I had the capability to share a picture of her (she looks like a fox, guys. a fox! only my favorite creature in the entire animal kingdom), but someone stole my iPhone ages ago and, cleverly, that was the only picture-taking device I brought with me. Because when traveling to a new & different land, who needs picture documentation? Right? Sigh. Do me a favor and imagine me snuggling a fox instead.

Originally, I had planned to spend this time in Vietnam. It’s a truly lovely country and I highly recommend it for a visit, but… well, I’ll just delicately express that my work situation there was not the best fit. And considering that the thing I miss most- nay, the only thing I miss- about Vietnam is their sensational coffee, I feel comfortable asserting that the move to Thailand was the right choice for me. Really, though. A quick Google search of ‘Vietnamese coffee’ will render my proclamations immediately affirmed, including but not limited to an article from The Economist entitled “Coffee in Vietnam: It’s the Sh*t”. They’re right.

So now that I’m here, I’ve taken this opportunity to enroll in full-time yoga school on the island. And while I’m not sure that I’m doing the best job of fitting in at school (it seems I’m the only girl who refuses to give up her heavy black eyeliner and Lady Gaga graphic tees in favor of… I don’t know, hempseed shirts or something- is that even a thing? probably not), all evidence suggests that I have at least deemed footwear unnecessary. I believe the last recorded sighting of shoes of my feet was circa September 24th, give or take. What? I live on the beach, and do take that as literally as possible. My house’s foundation is quite honestly built on the sand, despite repeated Biblical warnings against the very same. But not wearing shoes is probably yogic, right? Anyway, this week in class we’re learning nidra yoga, or the act of conscious yogic sleep. Most often for me, this practice is just reduced to actual sleep, snoring not excluded. As you may imagine, I’m really popular with my classmates.

Enough of that, though- everyone knows that the most exciting part of travel is the food so let’s get down to it. I’m going to be honest, even at the risk of inciting widespread disdain (“UGH, typical American!” *eye roll*)- Thai food in the US is totally better than Thai food in Thailand. How does that happen? Still, there’s no denying the magic of a fresh pineapple juice in the mornin’ and Thailand’s got that one nailed down solid.

If I had to make a sweeping generalization, which I don’t but I will anyway, I’d say this is probably one of the best places I’ve traveled to. Even though I’m making the 21-hour visa run trip to the Malaysian border every 15 days to avoid becoming an illegal alien, this town is worth it. Mostly because I happen to be a passionate supporter of any lifestyle that considers getting weekly $9 massages to be standard behavior. Ideally I’ll be able to peel myself away from the massage table long enough to update Wayfaring Gypsy with relative frequency, but considering the sheer amount of willpower it took me to piece together this single post, I think it wise to refrain from making any guarantees. Until the next time, I leave you with this immensely important rhetoric on shoelessness and canine diseases. Farewell!

Your Thoughts & Feelings:

